bereavement support

The death of a loved one can be devastating.

Bereavement affects people in different ways. There's no right or wrong way to feel.

"You might feel a lot of emotions at once or. You feel you're having a good day, then you wake up and feel worse again,".

"It's like waves on a beach. You can be standing in water up to your knees and feel you can cope, then suddenly a big wave comes and knocks you off your feet."
Stages of bereavement or grief

Experts generally accept there are four stages of bereavement:

  • Accepting the unwanted reality - nothing will alter this.
  • Experiencing the pain of grief.
  • Adjusting to life without the person who has died.
  • Putting less emotional energy into grieving and putting it into something new – in other words, moving on

You'll probably go through all these stages, but you won't necessarily move smoothly from one to the next. Your grief might feel chaotic and out of control, but these feelings will eventually become less intense.

Feelings of grief

Give yourself time – these feelings will pass.